Holding my sleep to ransom

Holding my sleep to ransom

Standing stakes pierce my bed from bottom

To prick me back to book lest I flinch

Though fees fly like finch

Draining daddy like cold dunes

My brain washed the future shallow

Mutilating my bones and my marrow

Maestro says I will lead tomorrow

Farther I go from my staked bed like an arrow

And sing my head not to red

Night to morning I have read

Not believing noise who thinks futile my toil

Hostage I am to lamp oil

Holding my sleep to ransom

I know him, future is handsome

Electioneering pregnanting our hope of change

That my hostage will be free again

The stake will leave alone my bed

And raindrops the fees for dad

And prove my captor not a dud.

 

 

Leave a Reply

